Skip to main content
Skip to main menu



The Microbiology Department would like to congratulate these Graduate Students on receiving a Graduate School Travel Grant! The Department of Microbiology will have scientists representing us at conferences all over the world this summer! 

The Microbiology Department is pleased to announce that we have three Summer Research Grant recipients! Our congratulations go out to Abigail Deaven of Lewis Lab, Amy Siceloff of Shariat Lab, and Jared Smith of Shariat Lab.

The Microbiology is proud to announce that Stacy Bedore and Coralis Rodriguez have been chose as 2021-22 OTA recipients. The Center for Teaching and Learning administers the Outstanding Teaching Assistant (OTA) award, sponsored by the Office of the Vice President for Instruction.

The Microbiology Department is pleased to announce that Hannah Stanley, Trent Lab has been selected to receive the prestigious NSF Graduate Research Fellowship.

Helen Dukes of the Ottesen Lab is the recipient of the 2021 Dr. Joy Porter Williams Fellowship in Microbiology.

Support Microbiology at UGA

The Department of Microbiology appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click to read more

Every dollar contributed to the department has a direct impact on our students and faculty.