Skip to main content
Skip to main menu



The Microbiology Department is excited to announce that Andrew Wiggins, Summers Lab, is a recipient of the 2020-2021 ETA Award! The Center for Teaching and Learning administers the Excellence in Teaching Award (ETA), sponsored by the Graduate School.

The Microbiology Department is happy to announce that we have THREE Summer Research Grant recipients! Congratulations to Alyssa Baugh, Michael Mills, and Amy Siceloff!

We would like to congratulate Michael Mills and Tao Wang on receiving the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award for 2020-2021!

"Chlamydomonas reinhardtii as a model to study cilia-related disease"

by Dr. Karl Lechtreck, Department of Cellular Biology, University of Georgia

"Establishing Causality in Microbiota Research" 

by Dr. Volker Mai, Department of Epidemiology, University of Florida

Support Microbiology at UGA

The Department of Microbiology appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click to read more

Every dollar contributed to the department has a direct impact on our students and faculty.