Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Microbiology Graduate Student Association (MGSA)

MGSA Peer Mentoring Meeting
MGSA Peer Mentoring Spring 2024

Current Officers

MGSA Officers 2024-25
President Rochelle Yap  
Treasurer Elliot Shelton  
Social Chairs Ben Whisnant Jerry Enverso
Recruitment Chair Kat Goerlich Reagan Goodwin
Peer Mentoring Alejandro Pereira Hannah Edwards
Communication & Outreach Alyssia Gonzalez  

Other Information

MGSA Grad Student Grant Application

Use this to apply for funding for conference registration/travel, research expenses for a project that you are working on, or a professional development workshop/event. These applications will be reviewed by MGSA on a rolling basis at the monthly MGSA meeting (typically the first week of each month), and recipients will be notified immediately upon approval. If the expenses are incurred at UGA (e.g. research facility time) they will be billed directly to MGSA through the department. All other expenses will be reimbursed through the Microbiology department.

The upper limit is $500 per grant. Applications will be reviewed on a ROLLING BASIS all semester at the monthly MGSA meetings during the fourth week of each month, so apply as soon as you are ready. If your application is approved, you will be notified immediately afterwards. This is limited to one grant per recipient per semester.

Please contact the current MGSA Treasurer or President for more information.

Support Microbiology at UGA

The Department of Microbiology appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click to read more

Every dollar contributed to the department has a direct impact on our students and faculty.