Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


William Jackson and Jane Marshall Payne Graduate Fellowship in Microbiology

About the Award

Jackson PayneDr. William Jackson (Jack) Payne served on the faculty at the University of Georgia from 1955 to 1995 as Professor and Head of Microbiology, and also as the Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences from 1977-1988.  Jack made many significant contributions to the areas of bacterial diversity and physiology, especially with respect to the process of denitrification.

PayneThe William Jackson (Jack) and Jane Marshall Payne Graduate Fellowship in Microbiology was established by the family and friends of Jack and Jane Payne in recognition of their many contributions to the Department and Microbiology.  The award recognizes graduate students who demonstrate excellence in research and professional presence.




Past recipients

  • Erin Howard (2006)
  • Laura Williams (2007)
  • Noha Mesbah (2008)
  • Alecia Septer (2009)
  • Vanessa Varaljay (2010)
  • G. Matt Hawkins (2011)
  • Laura Cuff and Alex Tucker (2012)
  • Lauren Palmer (2013)
  • Brandon Satinksy (2014)
  • Dustin Ernst (2015)
  • Hannah Bullock (2016)
  • Chelsey Van Drisse (2017)
  • Matthew Powers (2018)
  • Rachel Burckhardt (2019)
  • Anastacia Parks (2020)
  • Huong Vu (2021)
  • Silke Andresen (2022)
  • Lahiru Malalasekara (2023)


Support Microbiology at UGA

The Department of Microbiology appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click to read more

Every dollar contributed to the department has a direct impact on our students and faculty.