Skip to main content
Skip to main menu



Emily DeCrescenzo Henriksen (Ph.D. 2008) obtained her PhD from the Department of Microbiology in 2008 with Dr. Joy Doran-Peterson and is currently working at the Idaho National Laboratory.

Kate Brandon (M.S. 2008). After graduating with her Masters in December 2008, Kate Brandon started working at Novozymes, the world's leading enzyme supplier (located outside Raleigh, NC).

Andrea Zbell (Ph.D, 2008) is currently a postdoctoral associate in Dr. Phil Rather’s lab at Emory University (Atlanta, GA), where she has been studying biofilm formation by Acinetobacter baumannii. Indeed Dr.

Todd Smith (PhD, 2009) After studying the regulation of flagellar genes in Helicobacter pylori with Dr. Tim Hoover, Todd was awarded an American Society for Microbiology Post-doctoral Fellowship in Infectious Disease and Public Health Microbiology.

Michael Gatlin (Ph.D. 2009) Michael’s dissertation research with Dan Colley was on host immunogenetics in relationship to resistance to reinfection by schistosomes. His work followed up on 40 years of research by Dan on the immunology of schistosomiasis.

Support Microbiology at UGA

The Department of Microbiology appreciates your financial support. Your gift is important to us and helps support critical opportunities for students and faculty alike, including lectures, travel support, and any number of educational events that augment the classroom experience. Click to read more

Every dollar contributed to the department has a direct impact on our students and faculty.