Undergraduate Advising

All students majoring in Microbiology are required to meet with an academic advisor at least once per academic term in order to be advised for the major and cleared for registration.  Undergraduate Microbiology majors are advised in the Microbiology Department once they have completed 60 hours of coursework.  Advising appointments can be scheduled directly with the Microbiology advisor usually after the 3rd week of the semester by using SAGE (Student Advising and Guidance Expert). Prior to 60 hours, students are advised in Franklin College's Office of Academic Advising in Memorial Hall. Students who have not yet earned 60 hours are still welcome to contact the departmental advisor with questions and to request an appointment to discuss the major.  Please note: the departmental advisor cannot clear students who are below 60 hours, those who are assigned to other advisors nor those who have not declared the Microbiology major.  Students who wish to declare Microbiology may do so on ATHENA (UGA’s student information system). 

Microbiology Advising Office Contact

Seth Peters sethpete@uga.edu

Walk-in Hours & No Show Walk-ins

Walk-in hours are for students who have specific questions or concerns; they are not for formal advising.  If you need to be advised, please schedule an appointment.  No show walk-in hours are for students who have missed their previously scheduled appointment and still need to be advised.

Walk-in Hours:  Wednesdays 1-3pm and Thursdays 10 am - 12pm.

No Show Walk-in Hours:  Please check SAGE for no show hours.

Please note: all walk-in hours are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Hours are subject to change; check on SAGE for a current schedule.

Microbiology Listserv

The Microbiology Listserv sends out information about new classes, scholarships, information sessions, internships, jobs as well as many other opportunities for students. If you currently have 60 hours and have not been receiving departmental emails, please contact khbrown@uga.edu to be added the Microbiology Undergraduate Listserv.

Graduation Checks

If you are a Microbiology major with over 80 hours, you are eligible for a graduation check.  During a graduation check, a graduation advisor will look over your degree audit to make sure that you are on track to graduate during your preferred graduation date.  To schedule a graduation check, please make an appointment with Rebecca Jeffers via SAGE or call the Graduation Certification Office at (706) 542-1522.  

Overrides

If you need a pre- or co-requisite override, please e-mail Seth Peters sethpete@uga.edu with your 81 number, the course for which you want to register and the reason for the override.  Overrides are subject to departmental approval.

________________________________________________________________________________________________

Undergraduate Mentoring

The Microbiology Department offers an expansive mentoring program to meet the needs of majors.  Students will be assigned a faculty mentor according to the first letter of their last name (consult the list below). Your faculty mentor will offer practical advice to help you tailor your academic curriculum to your aspirations.  In addition, group sessions will cover topics for students with graduate school aspirations, medical or professional school ambitions, and/or students wanting internships or jobs. Information regarding these sessions will be sent out via the Microbiology Undergraduate Listserv as they will not be offered regularly.  Group sessions are not meant to replace one-on-one mentoring, and students are encouraged to contact their mentors.

Please note: your faculty mentor DOES NOT replace your academic advisor in terms of advising you for your degree and graduation requirements.

Mentor Name

Mentor Email

Assigned by first letter of last name

Dan Colley  

dcolley@uga.edu

A

Harry Dailey  

hdailey@uga.edu

B

Diana Downs  

dmdowns@uga.edu

C-­‐D

Jorge Escalante 

jcescala@uga.edu

E-G

Tim Hoover 

trhoover@uga.edu

H-I

Anna Karls 

akarls@uga.edu

J-K

Duncan Krause  

dkrause@uga.edu

L

Zack Lewis 

zlewis@uga.edu

M

Rob Maier 

rmaier@uga.edu

N

Jan Mrazek 

mrazek@uga.edu

O

Ellen Neidle 

eneidle@uga.edu

Pa

Liz Ottesen 

ottesen@uga.edu

Pe-­‐Py

Joy Doran-­‐Peterson 

jpeterso@uga.edu

Q-R

Larry Shimkets 

shimkets@uga.edu

Sa-­‐Si

Vinny Starai 

vjstarai@uga.edu

Sm-­‐Sz

Anne Summers 

summers@uga.edu

T

Eric Stabb

estabb@uga.edu

U-V

William Whitman  

whitman@uga.edu

WXYZ

 


QUESTIONS?  Contact khbrown@uga.edu.